Ghana Football Association

Samuel Aboabire ‘Kataah’ Wins Greater Accra RFA Chairmanship


Mr. Samuel Aboabire popularly known as ‘Kataah’ has won the Greater Accra Regional Football Association Chairmanship.

The elections for the Chairmanship of the Regional Football Associations was held this morning across all 10 regions (with the exception of the newly formed regions).

As expected, some new faces emerged, others retained their seat whiles some had a smooth sail to the position.

In the Upper East region, Mr Salifu Shaibu Zida was re-elected as the Chairman for the Upper East RFA.

Mr Zida received 24 votes representing 75 per cent while his competitor Atiah Junior got 8 votes representing 25 per cent in the poll.

Alhaji Yahaya Biyad extended his reign as Upper West RFA Chairman by four more years, edging Alhaji Baba Ahmed Pele by three votes in the contest.

Alhaji Biyad got 16 out of the 36 votes cast whilst Alhaji Baba Ahmed Pele had 13 votes with retired referee and now chief Dejang-Naa Seidu Bomison getting 7 votes.

Mr Linford Asamoah recorded a landslide victory in the Eastern region poll in Koforidua. He recorded 103 votes with Nana Budu managing only nine votes.

Mr Simon Ehomah recorded 41 votes to win the Western RFA Chairmanship. He was trailed by James Asiedu Kaniyah on 28 votes and Mark Bismark Owusu on 26 votes.

Mr Ralph Gyambrah polled 52 votes to win the Brong Ahafo RFA Chairmanship slot.

Mr Daniel Agbogah, the Chairman of the Ho Dynamo FC won the Volta RFA role by popular acclamation.

Mr Samuel Aboabire won the Greater Accra RFA Chairmanship slot ahead of closest challenger Eugene Jacquaye. The national U-20 team manager polled 73 votes to win the election.

Mr Osei Tutu Agyeman alias Kotoro retained the Ashanti RFA Chairmanship. Kotoro blew away retired referee Osei Nsiah with his 41 votes compared to Nsiah’s 29 to retain the seat.

Mr Robert Otieku Duncan has been elected the Chairman of the Central RFA by popular acclamation.

The owner and founder of Soccer Intellectuals Football Club was elected at a brief ceremony at the Cape Coast stadium. 63 out of 75 delegates were present at the congress venue to cast their votes.

Below are the newly elected Regional Football Association Chairmen for the next four years

Salifu Zida- Upper East Region

Robert Duncan- Central Region

Yahaya Sadugu- Upper West Region

Daniel Agbogah- Volta Region

Ralph Gyambra – Brong Ahafo Region

Abu Alhassan- Northern Region

Simon Ehomah- Western Region

Samuel Aboabire- Greater Accra Region

Osei Tutu Agyemang – Ashanti Region

Linford Asamoah – Eastern Region

About Samuel A. Boakye-Buckman

Samuel A. Boakye-Buckman (popularly known as Dada Oliseh) is a self-motivated young journalist with a passion for telling stories better with pictures. He is the founder, owner, editor and bankroller of He has a vast experience in the reporting of football-related activities in Ghana and beyond. A former employee of Hearts News (official mouthpiece of Accra Hearts of Oak), 90 minutes sports paper, National Sports Authority,,, and, Samuel is one of the few energetic and self-motivated young journalist in Ghana with a large following on social media, especially Facebook ( He is well known for his frequent updates from all over the country with pictures to match. He is also a correspondent for a few international websites, including CAF. In recent times, he has introduced, as part of his many talents, the live streaming of matches and football related activities. He lives in Accra Ghana.

Recommended for you